Can I ask the community of M.E sufferers, how do other people live with this desease.

Posted , 10 users are following.

I'm having trouble knowing how to live with this condition. I do to much and then crash,or I do absolutely nothing and then feel guilty,was I really ill? How do other people cope?

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi Carol, it's very hard to live with. I also crash after doing too much. I am not good at pacing myself and though I know that I should take regular rests during the day BEFORE getting too tired, I never do and I find it hard to sleep at night as I am always 'wired but tired'. I don't know what to advise you as I don't take my own advice! Hopefully one day I will as it is key to dealing with this horrible condition. Have you had any helpful advice from the medical profession. How old are you and do you work? I am 61 and can't work now sadly, which I really miss as I am a very active person normally, or at least I was! Take care x

• Posted

Wearing a heart monitor can help avoid crashes. There are now inexpensive models you can wear on your wrist. By avoiding the high heart rates, you may be able to avoid the crash.
  • Posted

Hi ive had me my whole adult life (20years in total) the best advise i can give is you must accept your limitations rest wen you need to! I still crash cause i do too much but its learning what is worth the crash like its not worth doing the hoovering if your pushing yourself but if your seeing a friend that might be worth crashing. You also hav to remember your normal is now completly different to a healthy persons normal. You cant compare yourself to how you used to be you have to accept your ill or you will forever be fighting the illness and it will keep hurting you. Accept it and you find how to live with it.  
  • Posted