Can I claim PIPS having trigeminal neuralgia

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi I have applied for Personal Independant Payment, not sure if I will get it, I have got an appointment with Dial who is going to help me complete thr form in 

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Dawn, I'm not an expert, but DIAL is so you're meeting with the right people.  My understanding is that PIP is not related to a specific diagnosis but to the disability that you live with and focusses on what you can and can't do on a day to day basis.  So in preparation, you need to be thinking about can you work full time or part time, is there a different job you could do, what help do you need with day to day tasks like getting washed and dress, are you able to drive or travel by public transport, etc.  Good luck with it.

• Posted

Hi I am working full time at the moment, i was a housing support worker in december 2016 when diognosed with TN and have struggled since I have tried several different jobs since and I am unable now to work in that field. I am now a pot washer in a hospital, I take tegrotol and gapatine daily, I am still in pain all day and every day due to me not taking the correct dosege meds as the meds make me lose my memory and I wouldn't be abl to do the job, I am under stress all the time due to the pain which then makes me forget things even more. I should be on the sick . and get the meds to the correct doesage xx

• Posted

Dawn - I'm so sorry to hear that you're not able to manage at the moment.  Of course, everyone is different but one tip I can give about medication is to set the alarm on your smartphone (assuming you have one) so that you take your medication strictly evenly throughout the 24 hours.  This will mean that you have a steady level of medication in your blood and therefore more likely to get the pain more manageable.

• Posted