Can I push for tests?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this and could not even have hypothyroidism so please bare with me! I was tested for diabetes at the doctors, came back clear however I have suspected hypothyroidism with a TSH aid 6.5. Makes sense to me as I have spent my entire life feeling exhausted. However my doctor says he needs to test my antibodies and some other bits to confirm if any treatment is required, but I was told to wait 2 months for another blood test incase it was a 'blip'. It's been a month and I am so exhausted, I am sleeping 8 hours at night and napping for 3 hours a day as I can't stay awake. It's gotten to the point where I'm sleeping on the couch so my dog isn't alone all the time! I feel like this isn't normal? Can I go back to my doctor and ask for the test now? Or is it completely necessary? He kind of made me feel silly when I said I was tired before and that he wouldn't expect any symptoms from someone with a TSH of 6.5.

Thank you for any advice!

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi, fairly new to this myself, but I understand "normal" TSH is between 0.4 and 4 so yes a TSH of 6.5 would indicate hypothyroidism, but I guess as it's close to what is deemed normal they are wanting to retest to ensure other factors are not affecting the result. Are you having any other symptoms other than fatigue ? Do push though as it took 2 years before I was taken serious enough to even have the blood test, ended up with a TSH of 22 and unnecessarily poorly. Rapid Weight gain and fatigue where my initial symptoms.

• Posted