Can I take this combination of medication please?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi there!

I am 36 male, from Saudi Arabia. I am doing my PhD in UK. I was diagnosed with high blood prusser in 2006. I take Felodipine 10mg + Losartan 50mg + Indapamide 2.5mg. Hoever, I feel more relax and comfortable when I added Atenolol 25mg just 2 months ago when I retured back home for a holiday. I am worring if that is okay or not.

So, can I take a combination of these medication together please? they are: Atenolol 25mg + Felodipine 10mg + Losartan 50mg + Indapamide 2.5mg? If not, why? And how can I adjust it to be fine please?

Thank you.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I know you have said your from Saudi does that mean your medication was prescribed by your Dr in your homeland and did he do the diagnosis and prescribe those meds or did you buy off the internet and self medicate, also how old are you and how high was your bp in 2006 and what is it on arregular basis now.
    • Posted

Thank you Alex for your question. In the first time back in 2006 my bp was somthing between 150/90 and 140/85 and my puls was upove 90 always. My Dr prscribed me Atenolo 50mg. Then when I came to UK in 2012 my Dr in UK changed it to Felodipine 10mg + Losartan 50mg + Indapamide 2.5mg. However, sometimes when I feel nurvous with study stress I take Atenolol 12.5mg sometimes 25mg with my mentioned medications above so I feel relax and more comfortable because it reduces my puls to be between 60-80. Without Atenolol it is always above 85 and somethimes 90s. My bp is always 130/75 now with or without Atenolol. 
  • Posted

The best person to advise you is a good pharmacist - they know more about drugs and drug interactions than anyone else.  

Atenolol is a beta blocker and is certainly helpful in reducing a high pulse. However, if taken for a period of time it must never be stopped in one go but gradually tapered off.