Can Omeprazole cause vitamin deficiencies?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi, I have been taking Omeprazole since 28th March this year. Since taking them my recent blood test has shown that my iron levels are a bit low still, my folate levels are also below normal and my B12 is a low normal reading (the doctor wants to recheck it in November). Omeprazole has been a wonder drug for my acid reflux but I’m not sure if it is masking any other problems.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I have the same symptoms while taking Lansoprazole. I think doctors are slowly realising this is a frequent issue - but so far have not done anything about it.

• Posted

Yup b12 and Feratin injections... Sifrol for my RLS... I'd LOVE to stop all that...

• Posted

Sorry I don’t know what RLS is, I’m new to all these problems. Hopefully my B12 won’t fall any lower so I can avoid injections. I’m currently waiting for my stool analysis to see if I’m suffering from malabsorption issues. 
  • Posted

Yes.  These drugs basically stop the stomach from making hydrochloric acid, and likely other necessary enzymes and chemicals.  So basically, you eat food, it sits in your stomach fermenting, it is pushed through the digestive system and you get very little nutrient benefit.  Slow starvation.  Eventually, you will get weird symptoms likely restless leg syndrome or muscle aches.  And bone loss and dementia. 

What were your original symptoms for taking an acid blocker?

• Posted

I was waking up every morning with abdominal pain and nausea, acid would rise to the back of my throat and it would either come up into my mouth or I would throw up stomach acid. Over the counter remedies did nothing to alleviate my symptoms so 3 months after trying to help myself I went to the doctor and that is when she’s prescribed Omeprazole. Since then I have only had two occasions where I have felt any stomach acid.
    • Posted