Can someone help?

Posted , 6 users are following.

How can I tell if I'm taking too high of a dose of my thyroid medication?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I’m sure you’ll get a better answer from some than me but to start off the discussion... you may notice an elevated heart rate, high or higher blood pressure, shortness of breath, chest pain, sweating, extreme case maybe difficulty sleeping due to increased energy. I’ve taken way too much before and didn’t notice any bad symptoms, my blood pressure always remains low, I sleep well, I appreciated what I guessed was more normal energy (oops). I think we’re all different and some people are more sensitive than others. The ideal TSH level varies for some people (per my endocrinologist). I work in healthcare, I’ve met older individuals that years ago were told to test the med and find what works best for them. They typically take too much and shut off their own thyroid production. None of them had fractures due to bone loss, and remained pretty independent and active with aging. So you’ve got to listen to your own body. As long as you are not symptomatic your doctor will continue to fine tune your dosing. Sometimes our thyroid needs change over time due to changes in the level of inflammation in your body (that’s what my endocrinologist told me). Be patient, with any symptoms leave a message with your physician and keep them up to date! Best wishes!
    • Posted

Thank You!! Dr took blood today and is rechecking. I have ALL of the symptoms you described, elevated heart rate, higher blood pressure, shortness of breath, chest pain, and sweating. NOT to mention anxiety through the roof. So tired of feeling this way sad
  • Posted