Can't breathe without sudafed nasal spray

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi!

I've been using sudafed spray (for blocked nose) for a couple of years. I know I shouldn't use it for more than a few days, and I've seen my GP about this, but I've tried so many other sprays and nothing else seems to help. My nose gets completely blocked and I can't breathe through my nose without the spray!

I saw an ENT who said that I've got a slightly narrow air passage but not narrow enough to have the surgery. He couldn't find any other problems and suggested a spray called Dymista. I've tried this and this doesn't seem to work for me either.

I'm desperate to try something else as I'm worried about other health problems that continuous use of Sudafed could have. Does anyone know of any?

Thanks so much in advance

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lizzy.i too have the same problem as you.the only spray that works for me is anything with oxymetazomine/xzylometazomine.otrivine is great but shop own brands are just as good.once again though not meant for long term use but what do you do when you can't breathe? I found out I was dehydrated which made my nasal congestion worse so been drinking lots of water which has really helped.it got that I was using a whole spray per day! Symptoms are improved.stay hydrated.x

• Posted

Hi! I try and drink around 2-3 litres a day, and unfortunately it makes no difference for me. No idea what I'm supposed to do apart from using this spray which is not supposed to be used for longer than 3 days!

• Posted

I know not supposed to use longer than 3 days but it's only one that works for me.ive been using nasal sprays for 30 plus years and done me no harm!

• Posted

Xlear all natural. Cvs walgreens walmart etc.