Can you take more than two puffs of Albuterol during an asthma attack?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Often when I'm getting bronchial spasms and use Albuterol I don't really feel an improvement. The spasms can continue and I get very rapid heartbeat. Is it safe to take more than two puffs of Albuterol if I still feel bronchial spasms or no improvement, or is that dangerous?

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Hi Steven, 

Do you mean salbutamol ( blue reliever inhaler) ? Known as ventolin? If so the rapid heart beat can be a side affect from the inhaler I often get it when taking it. It is known to raise your pulse. Also I am no doctor so can not tell you how to take your meds, read the box and go with it... if you struggling still after using your reliver inhaler you should contact a health professional. They should be able to help you more. If you in the U.K. 111 can advise you how many puffs you are safety able to take. 

• Posted

Hi Steven. Do you have a preventer inhaler and do you have an asthma plan ? ,if not you need to see your doctor or asthma nurse they will plan with you what to do if you have an attack this is very important 
    • Posted

I also take Advair as my preventative inhaler. I did make a doctor's appointment.

• Edited

I have bronchial spasms and they scared me I didn't know what was going on! And doctors wouldn't answer me or just shrug it off but I wanted answers. Mine were caused mostly by allergies. So me taking allergy pills helped and me telling a doctor about my concerns about them. Good luck hope that helped

• Posted

Wait 15 minutes and do deep breathing with pursed lips to help.  The increased hart rate is from the albuterol itself, it's a common side effect but goes away after a bit not something to be concerned about.  Check your peak flow before and 15 minutes after you will probably see improvement that is telling you it is actually working.