Candesartan fifth time lucky?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been prescribed 2mg daily Candesartan and have been taking it for only three days now having had very nasty side effects from three of the four previously prescribed. The last one was Amlovasc which I stopped after 3 1/2 weeks due to excessive aches and pains in joints, weight gain, sleeplessness,acid reflux, sweating and worst of all swelling and tightness of legs and arms. The previous treatments were Ramipril- dizziness, cough, sleep disturbance or no sleep at all: Lisinopril- giddiness, cough, acid etc. The only thing which did not cause any side effects was a diuretic, but I was told I couldn't have that as renal function was low. I had been resisting medication for high BP for around six months by losing weight, swallowing garlic and taking solidago. I got my BP down, but then it started to rise and I had no choice. Since starting these pills I have felt worse than at any other time in my life and am hoping that maybe Candesartan might be the one that might be bearable. Having read the comments I am not so hopeful as have been started on a dose, which they tell me is of no use, but just to get me used to a new drug.Is there any hope out there, all comments are so negative?Why are you told to lose weight when all the things you are given pile it on?

2 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi sorry to hear your having probs with your bp tablets. if it help to know your not the only one.. (see below 2/3/07 36yr old... its me)

well its now september as you know. i have had a noghtmare of a year lol