Cannot work at the moment

Posted , 4 users are following.

I cannot work at the moment because of my depression. I sometimes feel like a failure because of this but then I have to remind myself that I have been at my job in a school for just over 14 years and this year is just a blip in my life. I have always worked since leaving college in 2001 so I guess I shouldn't be too hard on myself but it can be hard and then you get some people saying 'why aren't you working?'

My family and friends have been so supportive and so has my gp.

Can anyone else not work because of depression? My Mum and Sister said I could go on ESA until I get myself sorted. I'm in between finding the right antidepressant for me. I'm on Mirtazapine at the moment.

2 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sue

I can understand ur frustration and emotional rollercoaster.life an get quiet difficult to grasp sometimes when all u want do is crawl into a small box and be alone that's hw I feel sumtyms.im not a professional but I did have a depression bout a few years ago when I was at work and suddenly considered anything work related was the last of my thoughts my sales dropped I have irate customers I went it some depression over my personal life issues and was always asking myself why? I lost weight I took meds for migranes and anxiety then 1 day I realised it's my mind that controls my thoughts and what I think I Do so if I had to rechannel my level of thought to happy and productively speaking to positive people all started to help me bring me back to the girl I was always smiling which is what all of us shud try because remember no matter Wat happens in ur life gud or bad God has got you and he will never let go smile and say yay I have life and nothing and no1 cab steal that from me ......that's how I tried to quonquer my fears my sadness my troubles in the end IT shud make u stronger as a person to just enjoy life life free and always lend a helping hand.