Capsule endoscopy

Posted , 7 users are following.

I am having a capsule endoscopy next week but as I have trouble swallowing tablets I wondered if anyone knew how big the capsule is please?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hi Clare,

I have been recommend for this as this is the next process for me.  I will be interested to hear how you get on.

I have heard from a friend of a friend who has had it done that it is the size of the largest tablet you can take if you know what I mean?

Good luck i hope it goes well for you.

• Posted

Hope you get this jenny as I'm not too good with computers. Oh dear I have so much trouble swallowing I don't think I can do it. My husband has to take a very large calcium tablet but he can chew it ... If I can use this again and find the right bit I will let you know..
    • Posted

Hi Jenny 33426

I have had the test and the capsule isn't that big at all. I had a small amount of liquid which helps break down gasses (I think) then the drink of water with more drops and then swallow the capsule. I didn't gag, choke, or bring it up. In fact it wasn't bad at all. I have to go back tonight to have the monitor removed from round from my body and results will be sent to my reffering doctor. So, don't worry and good luck. Let me know how you get on.

• Posted

Hello Clare,

Thank you so much for taking the time to message and update me! Huge well done for having it done and I really am so glad it all went well for you!

One question, did you have to have a sachet of fleet the night before having the capsule?

Thanks again.

• Posted