Care of "applicator fingertip"

Posted , 10 users are following.

When I was first diagnosed with LS by a gyno and trotted off to the pharmacy with my prescription for Clobetasol I had a number of questions for the pharmacist, one of which was whether the ointment would also affect the fingertip I used to apply it. She responded no, that it wouldn't have any effect.

Here is an example of a time when I should have just following my own instincts and common sense. I have been applying Clob daily for about two months now with the same fingertip, which I wash excessively after each application. The other day I started flossing my teeth before bed and, as usual, guided the floss inside my mouth with various fingertips -- depending on which side I was flossing. Well, the next thing I know, right before my eyes as I manoevered the floss to my other hand, I saw and felt the floss break through the outer skin layer and slice down into the flesh of my fingertip. Kind of like a wire cheese cutter breaking through the outer skin of the cheese and slicing through, if you know what I mean.

Now I have started wrapping a piece of plastic wrap tightly around my fingertip in order to apply the Clob. It's not too cumbersome, and hopefully my fingertip will start to heal.

Has anyone else experienced this problem? What did you do?

Does this mean I am soon to expect cracking and tearing of the genital skin to which I apply Clobetasol?

1 like, 17 replies

17 Replies

Next
  • Posted

It is an interesting thought.  It didn't happen to me.  But over time I learned to use clob sparingly.  Only the tiniest amount.  At present with the use of baking soda and borax I seldom use clobetasol anymore.  (Just borax/baking soda baths and rinses.  Then apply a small amount of coconut oil.  And I keep a fairly strict diet- no added sugar, no gluten, no alcohol, no caffeine and limited dairy.  Plus regular dilation.)   

• Posted