Carpal tunnel surgery 5 weeks ago still can’t put pressure on my palms

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am a massage therapist and had carpal tunnel release on my right(dominant) hand 5 weeks and still can’t put pressure on my hand without pain.  I return to the surgeon today to evaluate if I am ready for the left hand to be scheduled.  I was hoping I would be a lot further along than this. I miss my workouts. I can only lift about 2 lbs with that hand and can’t do any pulling or pushing motions without pain. Twisting motions is getting better but still very painful.  I have a very high pain tolerance so haven’t take pain meds since day 2 and would prefer to avoid them. I want to get back to do at least some minor weight lifting and planks, push-ups and such my the pain is excruciating when I put full weight on my hand. Any suggestions?

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Im afraid it's a case of patience. I had mine done 6wks ago and i still get pain in the palm of my hand and pain in my wrist at times. I was advised by my physio to massage the scar sight with bio oil and gently rub it with velco to desensitize the nerves. Also use a tin of beans to excercise it. Give it time. .

• Posted

Been doing the massage with a product called rock rub that gas a lot of vitamin e oil in it. What surprises me most is tithe dr isn’t having me go to a pt. He just told me to keep working it on my own
    • Posted

We don't get sent to a physio in the UK any more , but we have a number we can ring to speak to 1 if any issues.

• Posted

I had carpal tunnel surgery 6 weeks ago. It was successful and pain free. My doctor told me to massage the palm to break up the scar tissue and less pain. So far it worked! 
  • Posted

I would not have the other hand done yet, see how this one heals

I had both mine done at the same time 5 years ago and they are both numb and pins & needles  24/7 they are so bad I need help just buttoning my clothing

• Posted