Carpal Tunnel Surgery and Recovery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Ok, I just had bilateral (both hands) carpal tunnel release on Friday (April 21st). My doctor, right after recovery in post op, wanted me to start making firsts and do so every hour. He mentioned that as long as I could handle the pain there is no damage I could do internally. I thought I would use a forum to share my experience and recovery process for others thinking about surgery. I had pretty severe CTS for almost 3 years before it go so bad, that I decided to do both hands. I was a quite afraid of the surgery, not because of the procedure or possible pain, but hearing variations on recovery time. As a software engineer I don't have 4,5,6 weeks to be away from work, so hearing some of the stories on length of recovery had me concerned. My doctor (maybe a little to aggressive on the recovery) said, some of his patients are back to typing the next day after surgery and most are 7-10 days for full recovery (minus extreme heavy lifting). Alright, so here is my progress so far. Day 1- Surgery in the early morning and woke up with wrist spints on both hands. He put a nerve block in my wrist that lasts for 24-48 hours to help with the pain. I immediately felt better in both hands. The existing tingle and numbness was from the nerve block. Went home and rested all day. I made firsts whenever I was awake. I could not twist the door nob and any thing that required twisting. Day 2-Still rested in bed most of the day. Performed ligth activity with my hands, still making fists, and other light stretching. Day 3-Made it outside to do light activity, such as watering the plants and cleaning the pool with the pole. To this point I kepted the splints on with brief times where I took it off and did some stretching. That evening I took a shower and removed the dressing and washed around the stiches. I was able to do light typing, checking emails, responding and such. Day 4 (today April 24th) I took off the splint