Cataract Surgery Concerns

Posted , 5 users are following.

20 years ago I had 4 cut RK in both my eyes. I have been wearing glasses for the last 15 years. In September 2016 I started having issues where mid and distance vision deteriorated to the point that I had to look out of the bottom of my glasses to read highway signs. Vertical and horizontal lines had a slight shadow alongside the line. I had surgery to remove cataracts from both my eyes. At the consultation I was offered the opportunity to upgrade the lens implant to a bifocal lens or an accommodating lens. I was told that my distance vision would be corrected with any lens I chose. I was also informed that since my prior RK correction was minor, if I chose to upgrade to an accommodating lens that I may have an opportunity to correct for near, mid and far vision. The downside would be that I may require reading glasses. I chose to upgrade and pay a premium for an accommodating lens. My left eye was done first a TRULIGN IOL lens was prescribed prior to surgery. The morning of the surgery the surgeon said that he decided to implant a normal Crystal IOL lens and that if required he would complete a laser correction at a latter date. Two weeks later a Crystal IOL lens was implanted in my right eye. Both implants are: AT-50AO, Diopter 25.50, Optic Dia 5.0mm, Overall Dia 11.5mm.

I am now experiencing vision issues for mid and distance vision. I can still distinguish a shadow on lines. Near vision is good.

My 2015 and 2016 vision prior to cataract surgery was:

OD +1.25 +1.00 165 Add+2.50

OS +1.50 +1.00 179 Add+2.50

After surgery:

OD -2.00 +1.75 178. Add+2.50

OS -1.75. +1.25 180 Add+2.50