Cataract surgery for narrow angle glaucoma?

Posted , 8 users are following.

My eye doctor wants me to get cataract surgery for my narrow angle glaucoma. I've been fighting the idea for 2 years so far. I had a laser iridotomy in both eyes 2 years ago. Wasn't successful, so she says. Just had it again in one eye so far 3 weeks ago. Have to go back for checkup and to see if worked on the one eye. I use Latanprost every night. My pressure is under control so far. But she says, it's to prevent an acute attack. I think she's a good doctor. But I'm really nervous. If it isn't successful on the first eye don't even know if will get on 2nd eye. Hopefully it's successful and will buy me time.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I was diagnosed with narrow angle-glaucoma last August and my doctor advised me to have the cataract surgery and I did in October. That was the best decision ever... I had it in Istanbul, Turkey and they have the latest procedures which was where you do not need to use all the eye drops normally use after the surgery.  With one surgery, three issues solved. No more glaucoma, no more cataract and no eye glasses smile I would recommend it and good luck with whatever you decide to do. Glaucoma is no joke!
  • Posted

It appears we share the same symptoms.  However, I am unaware of the relationship between glaucoma and cataracts. Does one naturally follow the other?
  • Posted