Causes of early onset cataracts ?

Posted , 19 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I've joined this community because I'm rather frustrated at not being able to know the cause for my bilateral cataracts.

I'm female, 22 years old, caucasian, eat very healthily, don't smoke, rarely drink ...

I noticed my first cataract in my right eye when I was 8 and messing around with winking. I was operated on the same year to replace my lens. My left eyesight was always excellent despite slight hypermetropia and it grew even stronger to compensate for the lesser capabilities of the artificial intra-ocular lens in my right eye.

The difference in eyesight always gave me horrible headaches that I just had to deal with. I was prescribed reading glasses to help with those.

Around 2-3 years ago I started noticing that my vision had globally deteriorated and as the months went by, I felt it was getting worse. When I started learning to drive in summer 2012 I realised I had trouble reading signposts and so I went to see my ophthalmologist, the same one who's been assigned me since my first operation (and who performed it). I was convinced somehow a cataract was developing in my left eye.

He examined me and told me I had developed astigmatism in my left eye, but no signs of cataract. He prescribed me some new glasses, saying I would need to wear them constantly, especially when driving.

Despite these glasses, I still had trouble reading signposts and progressively I started losing more vision, my left eyesight started to become ever so slightly foggy.

I finally got an appointment a few days ago and the diagnosis was a second cataract, this time in my left eye.

My Dr. was never able to tell me the cause of these cataracts, I find it very strange that they should appear at such a young age as well as 15 years apart.

I've looked up potential causes and none seem to fit.

I'm the type who likes to have an answer, I feel I need to know everything about me.