Causes of intestinal inflammation

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am wondering what conditions cause inflammation of the intestines other than Inflammatory bowel disease. I have tried googling this many times, but the only thing that ever pops up is IBD. I have symptoms of IBD (diarrhea, severe stomach pain, blood in stool) and my doctor found inflammation in my lower intestine during a colonostopy but he insists I only have irritable bowel syndrome. From my research, I have found that IBS never causes inflammation. I have been on multiple medications for IBS with no relief and just need some answers. 

0 likes, 18 replies

18 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Well that's cleared up  that misunderstanding. Since you hane inflammation of your colon wall that narrows it down considerably. UC or Chrohn's are 2 possibilities since both cause inflammation of the colon and from the symptoms you describe.It doesn't sound like IBS to me, but I'm not a doctor. Persistent inflammation of the colon is a serious problem and needs an explanation. A food allergy can be responsible for your symptoms. As you can see there's no easy answer. So a 2nd opinion would be a good idea.
    • Posted

I was pretty sure the inflammation and bleeding were NOT symptoms of IBS and I'm finding most of the commentors agree. I was tested for food allergies but there were none! Thanks for the input!
    • Posted

No it's not IBS,, I say Indeterminate Colitis now cheesygrin

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!