Cervical spondylosis,headaches and associated symptoms

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. My symptoms started over 3 yrs ago with the sudden onset of severe debilitating neck/headaches making everyday living very difficult. As I drove for a living a was finding it very difficult to cope with the pain as over the counter treatments were no good. The pain starts in the neck / back of the head region and radiates up the back of the head and into my facial area around the eyes, every slight movement of my head or neck resulted in severe pain and the only way to alleviate this was to lay down and rest or sleep the headaches last anywhere from 2 hrs to all day. My other symptoms are pain in the neck between my shoulders , pain in my shoulders running down my arms into my hands causing constant numbness tingling and stiff painfull little, ring and index fingers and also my thumb. Holding my arm in 1 position for any length ( on the phone , driving, computer )causes severe burning pain in my forearm and hand. Eventually sent for xrays and mri scan which shows I have cervical spondylosis. I've been on gabapentin and amytriptyline now for 9 months and have suffered badly with side effects and reactions ( dizzy spells, confusion, memory loss, depression, hallucinations the list is endless) . I have seen the neurosurgeon 4 times now over the last 3 yrs , who originally told me to leave it for 6 months as it may get better on it's own , to then saying have further tests then we will consider surgery to now saying he's sending me for physio and pain management. Totally Fed up and confused how he has contradicted himself with the treatment continually and seems to dismiss it all as trivial and ultimately gives me no real answers or hope. I have been off work now for the last 6 months as the headaches arm pain , hand numbness and tingling coupled with the loss of arm and hand strength meant driving was becoming dangerous as I couldn't move my head or neck for the pain .