Cervical spondylosis seems to be getting worse...

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have dealt with cervical sponylosis for two years (I recently turned 21). It has been getting progressively worse over time, but in the last four days, it has reached an entirely new level. I can hardly move my neck without immense pain, and the pain has spread to my upper back as well. I'm not sure what's going on, and I'm very frightened. I have tried pretty much every fix you could possibly think of, with the exception of surgery. My arm goes numb on and off, and has been for the past year. But doctors have all denied me surgery because of my age (I live in the US). The pain is unimaginable right now, as I can barely move my neck or even my arms without gasping for air for a moment from the pain. Do you think this is enough to finally get me the surgery I've been needing for two years? I plan on going to see a doctor later this afternoon to see if any new options have come up.

?(I also have three bulging discs and bone spurs in my cervical spine.)

Thank you in advance.

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Inhalemykiss,

Did this occur from some injury?  For your age, I wouldn't expect you to have these issues.  Here's how I have dealt, but mine is due to posture (computer/desk job) combined with over-doing it at the gym lifting weights. 

Helping core issue:

- Physical therapy

- chiropractor (be careful, research well)

- Aerobic exercise (obviously hard if you are in severe pain but perhaps in a pool)  Even if all you can do is take a walk, try to do it regularly and more often. 

- sunlight/heat, I find it helps, maybe psychologically.  

Pain management  

- drugs (ibuprofen and stronger stuff)

- hot/cold packs on your neck/back

- massage (deep tissue)