Change from warfarin to apixaban

Posted , 3 users are following.

three years post pe and on for life I have made this change and there seems to be some alteration in dosages compared to that in leaflet with meds.  Anyone come across this?

1 like, 17 replies

17 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ann. I am on Apixaban for life. My dosage is 5mg twice a day. Been on it since August 2016. Touch wood no major side effects. Hope this helps. I had multi bilateral pe. With right ventricular strain. xx
    • Posted

Hi Lizzie

I too have right ventricular strain due to the clots, I was diagnosed in November 2016 with large bilateral pe's after going undiagnosed for weeks.

Do you get any symptoms with the right strain?

Debs x

• Posted

Thanks for experience, i am new to this and dont feel quite right so maybe its just the start up.

any other side effects helpful. I read someone said depressionwas a problem.

• Posted

Hi Debbie. Not really still having lots of irregular heart beats. Sort of fluttery and heavy in my chest at times. Maybe anxiety . But on 20mg a day of Citalopram which I have been on for 2 or 3 years anyway. x
    • Posted

Hi Lizzie

This is what I feel as well, I do think some of it is anxiety but I don't know.

Just hope that is does eventually settle down x

• Posted

Hi Ann

I am Apixaban 5mg twice a day and touch wood have had no side effects, I have been on Apixaban since November 2016.

• Posted

thanks to you for the info.  The insert in the prescription box said 5mg for six months then back to 2.5mg twice daily thereafter.  A bit confusing
    • Posted

Are they saying you will go down to 2.5 after six months
    • Posted

Hi Ann

Your consultant will let you know if they want you to reduce the dosage, I have been on 5mg twice daily since November and there is no talk about reducing this at the moment.

• Posted

Thanks. I am assuming they know what they are doing so must do as requested.