Changed from Lyrica to Rewisca brand of Pregablin

Posted , 16 users are following.

Hi,

I have been taking Lyrica Pregablin for a year, slowly upping dosage from 25mg twice a day, to then 50mg twice daily. This is for the pain from Guillain Barre syndrome and Fibromyalgia.

I have had no side effects and decent pain relief.

But when I was put onto my 75mg twice daily, the Gp told me I was being put onto Rewisca as it was cheaper.

I've taken it for 3 months and my pain is going backwards, and everything else I had under some sort of control.

Normally when we up my dosage I have 2 days of tiredness, but immediate pain relief.

I didn't get any of this with the Rewisca, just fatigue getting worse, and pain escalating.

It happened from taking the 1sr rewisca tablet.

I know my Gp said it's exactly the same medication, just cheaper, but I'm not imagining this.

Sorry for the long post, it's my first time here.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Thank you for your response about your experience with Lyrica...and sorry to hear that your doc prescribed a cheaper substitute..I try to stay away from generic drugs with my pharmacist..thanks for sharing
  • Posted

I am a 66-year-old male living in England.  I have paid my dues to the NHS in National Insurance and prescription charges being in full employment until prolapsed discs caused by lifting in my job caused a forced early retirement just before the age of 60.

About 8 or 9 years ago the Pain Clinic recommended Pregabalin for referred pain – sciatica in my right leg and a vicious pain in my right testicle.  Pregabalin back then meant Lyrica and the dosage was carefully built up to an eventual 300mg twice a day.

I got on with Lyrica very well and both pains receded almost completely.  The sciatica has gone and the other would only trouble me briefly once or twice a month.  Side effects I could blame for weight gain and sudden hunger pangs but that might just be greed.