Changed heart rate since off xarelto

Posted , 10 users are following.

I have a fit bit HR charge which tracks heart rate. I have been wearing it for about six months and while I was on Xarelto (due to a small pulmonary embolism) my resting heart rate was around 92 bpm. Since I have been off of the Xarelto my resting heart rate is around 75. Obviously 75 is a more preferable heart rate, but I was wondering since the difference was noticed after I have been off of the Xarelto if anyone else has noticed this change in their heart rate due to the blood thinners. I am overly conscious of my heart rate because the only symptom I had of the pulmonary embolism was elevated resting heart rate of 130. I did not have any shortness of breath or symptoms of a deep vein thrombosis. Based on research I have done online this is not a documented side effect so I'm wondering if I need to worry about a sudden drop in heart rate by 20 bpm even if it is now within the normal range. I have not changed anything else such as diet or exercise but my resting heart rate has changed pretty significantly since being off the medication.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

When I had my (minor) p.e.in my left lung last January, my resting HR when i woke up in the morning was elevated in the 120bpm range for a couple of days. I also had an elevated temperature.  I was put on Rivaroxaban/Xarelto for 6 months during which time I was fine and my resting HR when i woke up returned to a more normal range ( for me ) in the sub 60 bpm range.  I'm no longer on any medicine , but I've been told if i have another p.e. then I will be put back on Rivaroxaban/Xarelto for life.    
  • Posted

Hi,

i am on the last two weeks of Xarelto. During treatment my HR settled from 100-110 bpm to between 60-80 bpm, quite the opposite from your experience. However, I will now pay attention to what happens to my HR when I stop Xarelto and let you know what occurs.