Chiari 1 surgery advice

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all! I’m new to this and wanted some help/advice. I am a 26 year old female and found out my symptoms are Chiari related. I have daily headaches, vertigo, nausea about 3/4 times a week, I stumble at least once a day and sometimes my face gets tingly/numb. The doctor ultimately left it up to me if I wanted surgery. He did state if it gets worse I will need urgent surgery. I’m not sure what to do and would like some guidance from people who are dealing with this too. Has anyone has these symptoms and had a successful surgery or not as many of these symptoms with a successful surgery outcome? 

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I have had surgery and my headaches have all but gone, still get mussiness and tired and pins and needles but it all depends on your chiari situation and how long the pressure has been on your spinal cords nerves how quickly you recover. I am told that some symptoms recover and others take longer good luck.
  • Posted

Hi 

I have been in a very simalar situation as you, I was diagnosed in February with a chiari, I had been suffering from horrendous pains at the back of my head/ neck for years when ever I laugh, strain, cough, sneeze or play sport. Also I have started getting a numb tongue, so i was sent to the Walton Centre in Liverpool (who have been amazing) They gave me the option of surgery, I know it's such a hard decision to make, it's brain surgery at the end of the day lol

However I have opted for it and had my pre op done last week and am just waiting for a date for the op. Can't say I am looking forward to it. But I am just trying I be positive about it :-) there are worse things to have and I am fairly lucky as some people on hear have much worse/severe symptoms.

And If left untreated, the symptoms I have can get much worse so I just want it sorted now and not love in hope it doesn't get worse? 

Hope this helps and keep your chin up. 

Tom 

• Posted