Chronic low stomach acid

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi,

I am a student and since last year I have chronic low stomach acid. It began with not eating healthy(I ate a lot of fried food and yoghurt) then I had strong pain several days and went to a doctor. He told me I might have gastritis and I took Pantroprazole, but he didn't ordered examination. After one month I felt   problems with digestion when i ate meat or fruits, so i didnt eat them. Then i had endoscopy, which showed gastritis with low stomach acid in winter 2014. After two month pause the doctor told me to take proton inhibitor again for one month, but I felt that it makes my digestion worse. Totally I have taken Pantroprazole and Nexium for 3 months and this summer after second endoscopy they told me I dont have gastritis, but I have digestion related complaints. I know that I have low stomach acid and I feel my food is slowly digested and I get headaches from it. Why my stomach aicd is not returning after stopping the medication? What else can cause this problem and what medical examinations should i do to find the cause?

0 likes, 25 replies

25 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Kal

I don't think the HP blood test is as accurate as stool test or breath test. H.pylori bacteria tends to stay in the gut and digestive system and bowel it rarely enters the blood stream. Ask for a stool or breath test just to definitely rule it out. Also have you been tested fir hiatus hernia that causes excessive acid also...best wishes

• Posted

Ok and had 2 scans with contrast that shld have picked up a hiatus hernia rite.
    • Posted

Ok I will make a stool test for H. Pylori and Candida. What is this type of  hernia and how it is diagnosed?
    • Posted

I researeched a bit that this type of hernia is checked with an endoscopy. The last endoscopy several months ago showed nothing?
    • Posted