Chronic Lower Back Pain - Can you help? Male, 33 years old

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi,

I've had chronic low back pain for about 5 years now and it's got steadily worse. I've written a lot of detail here - but i'm just interested in how you think I should progress in treating my lower back pain - as i've seen a few physios now and nothings really helping and I don't really know what the cause of my backpain is or how to get it diagnosed or treated!! (at a bit of a loss!!)

History:

I'm Male, 33 and i'm pretty good shape (ran london marathon last year). I cant think of any incident five years ago that caused this - there was no trauma or accident - it just came on gradually about 5 years ago. I play a lot of sports / football / badminton / tennis so expect wear and tear from these sports has caused this to worsen slowly over time.

I started playing badminton about 2 years ago which made my low back pain noticeably worse - i presume because of the bouncing compression on the spine from the game. About a year ago I played a match when my back was already bad - the next day I couldn't bend my back at all. It took a few days to recover however since that day it has been noticeably worse.

Pain has now also spread to front of my pelvis.

Symptoms:

• Sharp chronic pain in low back, buttocks and more recently front of pelvis (pelvis in last 3 months). Does not radiate down in to legs. Pain is constantly there for the last 3 years - some days are better / some days are worse.

• I don't have any pain when in any position statically (e.g. sitting / lying down in any position for any length of time is fine) It's just during the movement from one position to another where the sharp pains occur - during movement or hips/low back)

• Pain hard to describe - its not localized - feels sharp and running through core of my body making me feel unstable.

-Pain not really worse in morning or evening - it's fairly consistent throughout the day.