CIC (self-cathing) and Swimming at the beach

Posted , 8 users are following.

I CIC 4 times a day and would like to go swimming at our local beach. But I have heard that this is unwise for those of us who CIC due to our being more susceptible to possible bacterial infections in the penis. Is there any truth to this?

Thanks. Howard

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

It's a good question, Howard!  I've been CIC-ing for 4 years now, 5 or 6 times a day, and have never heard that assertion.  I have also in that time swum in the Atlantic, the Pacific, the Mediterranean and various pools, public and private, and a lake and a river.  I've never had a UTI that was linked to any of those experiences (and none for 1 1/2 years).  I think careful prepping, as per SOP (Standard Operating Procedures) should keep you clean n safe.  

That said, I wouldn't swim in some waters (Thinking some areas of the Med, or in the Ganges River, or any river in China, etc. ), whether I did CIC or not!  eek

• Posted

sounds like BS - CIC, go to beach, and when you get home have a shower or a bath and as long as you clean everything why should you get an infection - if you do it at the beach yeh that sounds a bit risky.
  • Posted

No worries, Howard, from my experience. I swim all the time at my cabin's lake. By the way I also use the same catheter for weeks on end. Have done this now for going on three years. I rinse and clean it and store in a bottle of pure alcohol until next use. Rinse off alcohol and it's good to go. I cath six to eight times a day.

• Posted

Paul,

I've been contemplating using the same catheter but was concerned with UTI. I have only been using CIC for 6 months now and insurance will not cover it. I'm assuming you clean it with soap and water and then store it in alcohol? And then just rinse with water before using?

• Posted