Ciprofloxacin / fast heart and unbearable anxiety

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi

Been given 500mg ciprofloxacin for a water infection. G.p. told me to reduce domperidone whilst taking this antibiotic. After two days my heart rate is up, my neurological condition has got worse, but the worst is the utterly awful anxiety. Rang GP who told me stop them straight away. 24hrs on I don't understand as I still have those symptoms. I am beside myself it's the weekend so cannot ring GP.

Is it the ciprofloxacin ?

Is it reducing the domperidone?

Any help from anyone

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Wobbly68.

Whilst I don't know anything at all about Domperidine (I am not a doctor) I do know quite a lot about Ciprofloxacin and in my opinion, your anxiety etc., is very likely to be caused by this drug. I don't know how long you took it for but it affects some people after just one tablet and others after more. In any case, it should only be prescribed if everything else has failed and Drug Safety gives very clear guidelines about when these antibiotics should be prescribed and when they should not.

Ciprofloxacin belongs to a group of antibiotics called Fluoroquinolones (forgive me if you know this already) and they are responsible for causing many very serious side effects. Please don't take another antibiotic from this group; I took Levofloxacin and was unable to walk for 5 months, due to Tendinopathy in my Achilles and other tendons in my legs and feet.

Please research Fluoroqunolones; there is some information on this website but if you Google, you will find loads of information. You should also report this possible adverse reaction to the MHRA, under the Yellow Card Scheme. It sounds like your GP knew you were having a reaction and they should also report the ADR.

I hope you feel better soon; these are very dangerous drugs and have to be prescribed with great care and shouldn't ever be used as a first line defence.

Plodding on

• Posted

Wobbly,