Citalopram

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi.

i am new to citalopram and petrified of the side effects it may give me. i have been given 10mg to try for anxiety and at this stage not 1 has made it out the box. what side effects are common and will they stop me going to work or carrying out my normal day.

thanks for your help, hope everyone is feeling well.

xx

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi alison, If you a bit hesitant why not try cutting one in half then take it early evening, that way there will be a lot less chance of it affecting you at work.

• Posted

Hi. 10mg is a low dose. The initial side effects, for me, were insomnia, being "in my head", and feeling jittery and wired. But these side effects went away within a few weeks. You might feel a little dizzy or have a headache or nausea too at first.

I started at a higher dose.....like 20mg. So, it is good that you are starting out at a lower dose. Each time you raise the dosage, you will feel some side effects initially. Everyone is a bit different, so it is hard to say exactly what you will feel. For me, not being able to fall asleep was the hardest side effect. But, it definitely went away and I had many years on the medication with no problems at all and it helped me a lot. I took 40mg for a long time.

If your quality of life is so bad and you have tried everything else.....taking Citalopram might really help you with your anxiety/depression. I understand how scary it is to start a new medication. This drug also takes time to start working....so, you have to make a decision and commit to it.

I wish you well.

• Posted

I've recently started taking 10mg citalopram and im not in a position where i had to get up for work. The symptoms can be different for everyone from what im aware of.