citalopram and driving

Posted , 4 users are following.

I drive for a living but have suffered with depression for 6 or 7 years i only had the courage to go to the doctors yesterday as i have always felt embarrassed about it. I just wanted to know if anyone has had any side effects taking these tablets which can effect ya driving as I dont want to start taking them if I cant drive.

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Paul - I havent noticed a problem driving whilst taking them, but I guess everyone is different! How much have you been put on?
    • Posted

10 mg i got them yesterday but havent taken any yet and when is the best time to take them as i dont want to take them if they make me tired as i wont be able to drive.
    • Posted

I took mine mid morning and was ok but you may feel tired a bit to begin with. Best to ask doc or a pharmacist I guess though. 
  • Posted

Hi, I've been on citalipram for almost a good two years now,,and I haven't a problem now. At first they took a time getting use to. What strength are you on? Claire
    • Posted

10 mg also can you drink alchol the doctor said ya shouldnt but they say that about all tablets.
    • Posted

I drank on them and was ok but you aren't really meant to but I think people do from what I have heard. It may reduce how well they work but I didn't have any major issues 
  • Posted