CKD and Lupus anyone?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Would love to here from you.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Fran, I have no experience with Lupus.  But I was curious if the doctors tell you that is it Lupus that causes your CKD?  Also I understand the sometimes it is not Lupus that bothers the kidneys but the medications given to treat the Lupus.  What stage CKD are you?
    • Posted

Rick,

After tests, scans and a whole bunch of lab test my Nephrologists told me that my Lupus was not the cause for my CKD. He said it was the Metformin I had been taking for my diabetes, so I was put on insulin.   I am CKD stage 4 with gfr 23. The only thing I can take for pain is Tylenol   , unless I am in the hospital at which time I do receive stronger meds. At this point I am trying to find natural med, I tried to make a post on something that has been recommended, doesn't alter the state of mind, in case someone thinks it's something else. My post is still being reviewed so I don't think they are going to let me post it. Wonder what others use and how well it works.

Thanks for responding.

• Posted

If you are on Metformin, please don't stop taking it, as I said I   have autoimmune disease. My body reacts different than most peoples body does.

• Posted

getting tested for lupus and got stage 4 ckd 
    • Posted

Davey, 

Lupus is a branch of an autoimmune disease, connective tissue disease. Many branches to this disease.  I have other branches also,polymyositis,rheumatic arthritis, sjogren's, and Raynaud's. Since Lupus mimics other diseases it may be possible you have something else, or, you do have it, or it just doesn't show up yet. I'll keep you in my prayers.

• Posted