Clogged ear/bad hearing for almost six months

Posted , 4 users are following.

First off i am 17

I started having this issue shortly after when i moved to canada. It started with a bit of tinnitus (ear buzz) and bad hearing. Later on i had occasional ear pain. I visited a clinic and the doctor gave me some nasal sprays and steroid pills but it didnt help. Later, i took a hearing test and it showed that there is no problem with my middle ear and ear drum. Then i tried visiting a family doctor. She gave me some more nasal sprays but that didnt work either. I visited a dentist. He said that there might be a problem with my TMJ, so he gave me a nightguard that i've been using for 1-2 months and still no result. And i have occasional ear pain and tinnitus. Sometimes it feels like the fullness is more in the right ear but still the pain and tinnitus happens in both ears.

I must say that i am in a very depressed state at the moment and any help/advice is appreciated.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Sounds like Tinnits AND ETD, eustation tube dysfunction. .so sorry you have this all at such a young age. I believe the two go hand in hand..not a whole lot to do but what ya doing..all I could advise is research, research!! I've had them both for 2 yrs now..well, ETD came in past yr I guess, but I was just diagnosed with it a few months ago..Pray they soon find a cure. So many of us have this..

• Posted

Thanks for the advice terrie 

The only thing that calms me now is knowing that im not the only one with this problem 

• Posted

I had the same issues a few years ago it was Eustachian Tube Dysfunction.  Changing your diet might help.  I changed mine to dairy free/gluten free and my ears have been good for over a year now.  
    • Posted

Thanks for the advice linda

Sounds weird how diet might relate to ears bu i'll give it a try

• Posted