Clueless!!

Posted , 4 users are following.

I need advice - my sister has started these tablets but she is only 9stone and NOT overweight

I cannot fins anywhere the side effects these will have.

What will they do??

Anyone?

xx :shock:

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I'm new to all this and yet to start my course....what i do know is this...

\"Orlistat works by blocking chemicals (enzymes) in your gut which digest fat. Nearly a third of the fat that you eat is blocked by orlistat. The undigested fat is not absorbed into your body, and is passed out with your faeces (stools). The normal dose is one capsule, three times a day with each meal. However, you do not need to take one if there is no fat in the meal.\"

This link has lots of useful info https://patient.info/showdoc/23069196

As far as i know it is only used as a slimming aid (in conjunction with healthy eating & exercise) and would perhaps question why she is taking it if she is not over-weight. As far as i know its not meant to be used as a preventative measure to weight gain.

Hope this helps.

x

• Posted

hey clueless!

im 11st n my BMI is 25, id been taking acomplia until it was banned last year, i lost over a stone and went down to 9st 4lbs which is wot my ideal weight should be. since then ive gone back up to 11st. i eat fairly healthily and go to the gym loads but cant shift the weight and im feelin really unhappy. my doctor was reluctant to prescribe me orlistat as they do have very strict guidelines to follow. theres sum fantastic websites giving info on side effects (just google orlistat) and if u flick back through these blogs some are really useful. ive had no side effects appart from the orange oil but of course everybody is different! im sorry i cant offer loads of advice as ive only been taking them a week but i hope this is a tiny bit useful.

xxx

• Posted