Codeine Allergy

Posted , 3 users are following.

I was recently prescribed codeine phosphate for constant diarrhea, but the last few days the area around my eyes has become very swollen itchy and sore, its worse when I get up in the morning and as the day goes on the swelling goes down but the skin becomes extremely dry and scaly, I stopped taking the tablets for a couple of days and the symptoms eased.

Has anyone else experienced this

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jo

I've some experience of cdoeine but have never come across anaything like you describe.  I have a dear friend who was prerscribed codeine for your symptoms and who who eneded up up in hospital wirth chronic constipation and in great pain.  If I were you I'd go back yo your gp asap.  I use loperimide for diarrhea with great success, have you tried it?

xxx

• Posted

Opiate type drugs can give you constipation, especially if the person isn't used to them and it's a high dose.

I used to have chronic diarrhea, painful, and the consultant said my body can't digest fats too well so I stick to good oils like extra virgin olive oil and coconut oil and I can handle that with no diarrhea. 

• Posted

Hi Georgia

I was addicted to 30/500 co-codamol but thankfully have been off them now since November.  However, when I was taking it I devloped a mild form of IBS, alternating diarrhea and constipation, brought on by me taking Andrews salts because the codeine had bunged me up, then loperimide to cure the runs; a vicious circle.  I now try to avoid both of those.

You said in another post that you get skin itching and take anti-histamines for it, which one(s) do you use?  Since I was treated for my paracetamol overdose I've developed skin irtching as well, initially I tried cetirizine, but it did nothing, then my gp put me on hydroxyzine which is an "old style" sedating anti-histamine which has cleared up the completely.