codeine withdrawal, buprenorphine

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey peeps, really hoping someone can help. 

Ive been abusing codeine for The last 18 months and i am currently 7 days off but I'm still having hot flushes and dont feel too great.  . I used most days and on my days off i used 300mg gabapentin in the morning and same at night.  Im doing the same dose of gabba at the moment but it isnt helping like it used to.   

My last 2 months have been up to 25 30mg dihydrocodeine. 

My question is can i use Tramodol or buprenorphine to finish withdrawal off?  I have taken 200mg of tramodal the last 3 days but dont want to be making things worse.

I kniw these are opioids and are in the same family but I'm unsure of the similarities regarding my question.

I really dont want to try taking 2 codeine in a morning unstead as im done with that.  

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi John

Sorry to hear of your struggles.

I'm by no means an expert but, all I will say that by taking something like Tramadol, you will just end up swapping one drug for a stronger one & could end up back to square one but in a much bigger mess than you were in on the codeine.

If you Google vitamins etc or stuff to help withdrawals, there are supplements you can take that can help you.

Sorry I can't be of any more help, good luck mate

Ritchie

• Posted

Hi john 

the problem is tramadol ( allthough seen as a opiate ) is actually chemically different and were opiates such as codeine bind to opiate receptors tramadol also partially bind to this receptor but also has a anti-depressant action which is turn will help with pain 

buprenorphine on the other hand is a Partial Agonists which bind to receptors and activate them, but not to the same degree as do full agonists,so buprenorphine wouldnt be recommended as a replacement medication for codeine or dihydrocodeine ( as these are full agonists )