Cognitive Behavioural Therapy - By Phone?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi

CBT was hailed as the new way to empty the psychiatric hospitals and clinics, cut down the use of anxiolytics and help people improve their quality of of life. It has become so pervasive that GPs often ask patients to self refer. Some of these patients are initially assessed over the phone and offered CBT once a week - by telephone.

How would you feel about this? Have you experience of it?

Thanks for you time.

Kim

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I have had some experience of this. Although my sessions were in a clinic and not down a phone. I was given seven one hour sessions, one a week. 

I found them informative and interesting. My symptoms were validated and I was made aware of the functions taking place in my body, which had led to these symptoms and experiences during my panic episodes.

They were OK. However, they were not a miracle cure. And as it is, I have referred again, and will be starting the session this time next week.

• Posted

Thanks  for your feedback on CBT.  I am glad it helped but do you think you would have benefitted as much from 1 hour phone calls.  I'm sure I wouldn't but then I had a different kind of therapy where being seen and seeing the therapist  was all important.

Kim

• Posted

I'm not convinced that phone sessions would have been better.

For me personally, I needed to be face to face with the therapist. Plus it gave me a purpose on that particular day to leave the house. The whole experience of getting out and about and then talking face to face was and is beneficial in and of itself.

I agree with your sentiments.

• Posted

Thanks. everything you say rings bells with me. I would need to be in the same room as the therapist and for both of us to connect - read each others body language etc.

Kim

• Posted