Colonoscopy results

Posted , 2 users are following.

I finally had my colonoscopy after spending time in hospital in January due to blood loss and dehydration. Ive got the report, just wondering if anyone can shed some light as I am new to this. He couldn't go down the right side of my colon because the scope was looping and it was too painful. Apparently my colon is very bendy! The gas and air helped hut it was still painful.

The following are the report results:

Normal rectum and sigmoid, but a patch of inflammation in the splenic flexure, and area which the predsol enema couldn't reach. Normal distal transverse colon.

1. Rectum - 1 image, 2 x biopsy and placed in 4 containers

2. Proximal sigmoid colon - 2 x biopsy taken and placed in 3 containers

3. Splenic flexure - 2 images, 6 x biopsy and placed in 2 containers.

- Patchy Erythematous mucosa

- Patchy granular mucosa

- Multiple erosions with no bleeding

I watched the screen throuhout the procedure and could see the inflammation. He said there is inflammation and multiple erosions in the splenic flexure. He seems to think that the steroid enemas have stopped inflammation further down in my colon. Took biopsies and the report says diagnosis of suspected new IBD case. Not sure if ulcerative colitis or crohns but more than likely ulcerative colitis because of where it is apparently. He said the enemas I take aren't getting high enough up to heal the inflammation so don't know what happens now. They didn't give me any tablets, he was going to give me mesalazine oral talet's but because I had a reaction to the mesalazine enema before he didn't give me any. Just thought I would have been given steroid tablets or something to get rid of the inflammation in the meantime. Any advice would be much appreciated smile

Lou

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi and glad to hear you have had the procedure at last.