Coming off Mirtazipine

Posted , 8 users are following.

Since being on mirtazipine I've gained 10kg!

I'm currently on a dosage of 45mg at night. From tonight 17/05/17 I'm going to take half (22.5mg) for the next week. Then half again (11.25) for a week. Then go cold turkey.

My doctors are not helpful and I've been asking to come off mirtazipine for 2 months. They just keep saying that I need to wait for the referral to the psychiatrist. Which could take up to 6 months. I really can't risk the current weight gain I'm on. I don't fit in any of my clothes and I am so self conscious. It makes me cry all the time. I feel so fat and ugly.

Will keep you updated. Anyone think I'll have really bad withdrawals? I'm so angry that I was put on medication that would give me withdrawals. I would never have taken this if I had known the weight gain or that it can be hard to come off.

Hayley

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Day 1 - no problems

Day 2 - no problems

Day 3 - major nausea beyond my normal and nothing seems to make it go away.

Day 4 - hard to eat as I'm so nauseous

Note: I suffer from chronic nausea due to my anxiety but this just feels worse as lorazepam and anti sickness tablets don't take it away. sad feeling hopeless

• Posted

There are many reports of people trying to get off this.  Too many.  There does seem to be a way round it which is by gettig iqd to reduce. Might help if you could look into it. I am at 7.5 and not well, but cant budge.
    • Posted

Now that I'm off it I really don't want to be back on it! I'm just going to persevere.

• Posted

Good for you, do keep posting to let us knowmhow you are. Hope a better day today for you
    • Posted

Keep going if you can.It will be a rough patch for a while,but hang in there! Prayers!!! God Bless You,Bob
    • Posted

Day 4 up until 5 with panic attacks and severe nausea