Coming off Venlazaxine to start a family - Day 3 and support needed

Posted , 3 users are following.

This is my first time on a forum so I don't know if anyone will even see this but I need to speak to people who have been through Venlafxine withdrawal as I'm so confused.

I have been on 225mg Venlafaxine and 45mg Mirtazapine (for recurrent depression and anxiety after being on many different different drugs since teenage years - now 31) for 5 years.

I want to start a family and I want to be drug free for pregnancy so went to see my psychiatrist (a new one to me) who told me to get pregnant and THEN come off tablets. He told me there were no side effects to taking the drugs apart from weight gain and the effects of coming off the drugs to be no worse than the morning after drinking a glass of wine.  I questioned this with him as I once missed 2 days tablets by mistake and experienced awful flu like shakes, sweats and nausea - he told me I probably contracted flu at that time and mistook the symptoms.  He told me I would be fine and to come off them all the day I found out I was pregnant.

I didn't quite believe him and wanted to come off them BEFORE getting pregnant as I want this time to not be clouded with the extra worry and pressure of having to come off quickly.

I have been halving the amount of Venlafaxine every week and 3 days ago I took my last tablet but I'm finding it unbareable and my options are to go back on the tablets and face not having children at the moment (though I don't know when I'll feel strong enough to go through this again), ride it out (but I've been reading it could be for months and I'm self employed and can't afford months off at the moment as I have committments) I cannot get support from the doctor as he has told me he doesn't BELIEVE in withdrawal symptoms, it is all in the head. I really tried to have that attitude too but I'm struggling.