Coming to the end of Week 6

Posted , 5 users are following.

This is my first time on meds but the third time in 4 years that I've been assailed by Anxiety and Low Mood. It's health related anxiety but once it kicks in, it sort of becomes self-feeding, because all I'm anxious about is having the anxiety. Really difficult to shake, which is why I went for meds this time.  

I haven't enjoyed the side-effects ~ feeling woolly-footed; nausea; post-breakfast diarrhoea; trouble sleeping. My anxiety is 99.9% focussed on the fear of insomnia. It's not logical but that's the nature of the beast. 

So, by week 5, my anxiety was generally a lot better, and my mood wasn't bad. I was still anxious every night about whether I'd sleep or not. 

This week is maybe not quite as good, mainly because I'm getting very anxious about sleeping. I just can't think of a way to calm that down. I was very low about it yesterday. 

I'm going to give it 8 weeks, and then see whether I need to up the dose. 

1 like, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi.

it took me about 8 weeks to feel the full benefit of sertraline 

my anxiety prob got better after week 6 had good and bad days.

i was thinking of coming off them but I’m pleased I stuck at it, my sleep pattern is still up and down, I’m only on 25mg because I don’t want to feel like Have have no emotion, I still some days have a bit of anxiety but I can cope at the moment.

i have health anxiety, a few of my loved ones died at an early age, one being my husband at the age of 54. So any little lump bump aches and pains I think iv got something sinister. These are helping to take the edge off all that.

hope everything settles down for you so you can start enjoying life again 

• Posted