Concerned Daughter - Father's PSA High

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi, I am writing concerning my father. He is 56 years old and just had a PSA test done 2 days ago. His result came back 4.24. He does have symptoms of prostate problems, but so has his father. My father is very bad with going to the doctor annually and I begged him to go this year (I am currently a physician assistant student and am very supportive of preventative medicine).  Anyways, he's had 3 PSA tests within the past 6 years with the following results:

2011 - PSA 1.83

2013 - PSA 2.92

2017 - PSA 4.24

What concerns me is the rise in these values and as well as the most recent abnormal value.

My grandfather who is 84 (his father) has also had problems with his prostate.  From what my grandfather tells me, his PSA is 9 and he has had about 4 biopsies within the past 10 years which have all turned out negative for prostate cancer. So, I guess he has only been diagnosed as having an enlarged prostate.

I am currently seaching for a urologist for my father, since I want him to go to one regardless of what his GP says, but I was just looking for input on what other people may think about these values.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

Prev
  • Posted