Concerned my son is doing cocaine

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have no experience with cocaine abuse. I know he has been smoking marijuana for several years now. He is 26. I heard a rumor a couple of months ago that he was doing cocaine, but my other son assured me it wasn't true. Today I found a small blue baggy that looks like something that would be for drugs. He has been making a snorting sound A LOT. It is annoying. Last night me was still awake at 2 am. I saw him coming in from the back porch with a beer. He has to be up by 7 for work. Which he does do. As a parent what are some of the first symptoms you noticed?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Dear 2chr,

I am a former clinician from CAMH (cociane services) Canada's largest addiction and mental health facility.

First of all let me express how sorry I am that you are experiencing this.

I can only speak generally as I do not know your son so be careful not to jump to any conclusions. Your son may not be taking cocaine..at this point we simply do not know.

But good for you and your parental vigilence.

Quote ". As a parent what are some of the first symptoms you noticed?"

I am afraid to say that all of the things you mentioned from late nights and early starts to sniffling or snorting sounds seem to point to insufflation of some form of stimulant or opiate.

If your son is using it is natural for him to deny it..even in the face of pretty damning evidence.

Here are some more clues....

You must look at the aggregate and not any specific behaviour.

Has he lost interest in things that were previously important to him?

Has he changed peer groups?

Is he secretive and easily irritated.?

has his hygene deteriorated?

If you cannot talk to him (he is obviously of drinking age but living under your roof so that gives you some leverage.

Are there wild swings in his mood?

Is money or valuables missing?

Has his apetite changed or is there a significant weight change?