CONFUSED

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am 64 years old and my new doctor (female) is encouraging me to start taking HRT, my old previous doctor (female) now retired thought it best I did not take it......

I've had a hip replacement and am having treatment for a rotatorcuff tear amongst other health problems most related to 'age'........

Would I benifitt at this late stage in taking HRT given the risks associated with it..........?

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Dolly,

I would get a second opinion really, especially if you are confused.  I am not a doctor and while I know that hormones can be beneficial for some, it's really wise to make sure it's the right thing for you. 

Are you able to get a second opinion?  Please do as I don't know how if you are postmenopausal and for how long but from what I have read there are certain schools of thought and this isn't following any of them.

Good luck!

Anniexx

• Posted

Hi Annie.......I like my new doctor, she's feisty and I'm already on first name terms with her which makes me feel comfortable....

Not sure a second opinion would help as that is what it would be someone else's opinion.....

I'm doing all the research I can for me......hence me joining the forum here....I value everyone's opinion and thank you for your reply.

• Posted

Hello Dolly............ha im singing that to you, you wont know until youtry it, dont suffer, give it a go, just stick to staying on it for 5 years max no more, should be ok then, the later on in life you take it, the better i think it would be for us, as our risk of breast cancers get less as we get older, my opinion is, if it was me at your age, i would go for it, if it makes you worse, stop it!!
    • Posted

Thank you Elaine for your reply......I am leaning towards your suggestion and perhaps going with the patches.....
  • Posted