Confused and quite scared

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all,

I am a 20 yr old student and my whole life i've never experienced anything quite like this. I don't have a history or familly history of tension type headaches but I had been experiencing quite a few headaches/migranes during a week so i decided to get it checked out with a doctor, from which he suggested firstly trying proranolol 10mg, taking one in the morning and one at night. I carried this out for a month and a bit but unfortunately my headaches continued and if anything felt worse, I could hardly concentrate let alone keep up with my studies at university. So I went back and got my meds chaged to amitriptyline 10 mg every night. Thankfully this worked a treat for a month but then my headaches starting coming back so i doubled my dose to 20 mg but still i was getting headaches. Here is the intreging bit, I ran out of tablets for a week or so and was away on holiday (Dubai) and my headaches stopped completely! everything was exaclty the same from diet to going to the gym. I come back home but within days my headaches start up again. Its getting to the point where I will have to drop out of university since the pain is too much to cope with and study at the same time. I'm not sure if any of you out there have had anything similar to me but any help would be really really appreciated! here you might say have you tried other remedies and i have, almonds did not have an effect, amd the peppermint oil helps for a few minutes then bang the headache is back. If you've read all this thank you for your time!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted