Constant dizziness with Menieres

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all, 

I’m 21 and for the last 3 months I’ve suffered with constant dizziness and nausea, with the occasional bout of deafness followed by tinnitus. I’ve been to several doctors, and the ENT diagnosed me with stress (which is ridiculous). I’m currently bed bound and seeing another ENT tomorrow. I know menieres usually manifests as bouts of severe vertigo - so I’m wondering if any of you have ever had constant dizziness with it? I’m so desperate to find answers to this, I’ve had to drop out of my life. 

All the best,

Christina

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

What tests did the former ent run?   I think the new ent will be a good choice typically they would do a hearing test and MRI to rule out anything else 
  • Posted

If your hearing test was fine i am no doctor but it sounds like something other than mennieres
    • Posted

Thanks for the advice smile, so the audiologist who did my hearing test said it is possible to have perfect hearing with Menieres for a few years if it’s in early stages, but again I’m not a doctor so I’m not sure either way, just trying to find some answers. 
    • Posted

I suppose so but most have tinitus or some hearing effect alghough yes much less the first couple years
  • Posted

Hi Chistina

you are very young to have Meniere’s. It could be one of several vestibular disorders. I was initially diagnosed with labyrinthitis which shares some of the symptoms of Meniere’s. Hopefully your ent guy will give you an accurate diagnosis. Good luck. 

• Posted

Thanks for your response, I too was diagnosed with labyrinthitis a few months ago. I am still wondering though, have you ever suffered constant dizziness with it? I’ll update This tomorrow with ent verdict. 
  • Posted

Hi Christina,