Constantly Tired - Blood tests normal

Posted , 5 users are following.

For the last 1-2 months I have been feeling constantly tired.

I work as a Nurse full time however I only work day shifts, 8am-5pm Mon-Fri. Every morning I wake up tired. I find myself dozing off at my desk if I am doing paperwork and struggle to make it to lunch time. On my lunch break I sleep in my car and then I am tired again for the rest of my shift. I am 78kg and 165cm. My diet is relatively healthy during the week however I do tend to eat out on the weekends. I exercise on average 3-4 days a week and walk my dogs twice daily. I only drink alcohol on the weekends and do not take any sleepers at night. I drink on average 2 cups of coffee a day and always have. I recently visited my GP and we did a full set of bloods which came back unremarkable. My iron results came back as low-normal: 

Iron                                    19       19  umol/L    (10-33)

TIBC                                  73       66  umol/L    (45-70)

Saturation                          26       29  %         (16-50)

Ferritin                               40       39  ug/L      (20-290)

All other tests were normal however my Urea was slightly raised at 0.36. My thyroid was normal. 

My doctor suggested I may have sleep apnoea and to download an app to monitor my snoring. No snoring was heard. I go to be usually at 10pm-10:30pm and wake at 6am. I am on the contraceptive pill Brenda 35 ed and Lovan 20mg daily. I have been on these both for many many years. I went off both for approx 4-6 months and recently started back on them 3 months ago. 

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! 

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I feel really bad for you. I dont know much but it might be something mental. Are you depressed or something like that? Maybe something is stressing you out. Im no doctor but that can be a cause.
  • Posted

Hello, are you taking any thing for the tiredness?
    • Posted