Contemplating rotator cuff and labrum surgery. As a contractor, how long will I be off work?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have been told by my surgeon that I have a partially torn rotator cuff with a bone spur underneath, as well as a labrum tear. As a self-employed contractor, I am weighing whether or not to have surgery, and if I do, when will I realistically be able to return to work.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

this surgery SUCKS and you will need to get it done.  Start searching for excellent PTs you WILL NOT heal swiftly without an excellent PT!!  Good luck
  • Posted

I am a PT and took 6 months off. I was a little tentative about lifting at first but within a month was ok. I've been back to work for 4 months now. Being off 6 months is tough if you are self employed.  It is a  difficult and slow recovery process. If you have not already had some PT, maybe you could consider that before surgery. Wish you the best. 

• Posted

Three-4 months if you do light construction work. Longer for heavy lifting.  This is a very long and painful recovery. You must do physical therapy or you'll never get back to normal.

I had a full tear repair with bone spurs and some bursitis cleaned up on July 31st. My shoulder still hurts. I'm still going to PT for strengthening.

Good luck.

• Posted

Hello Acesspade: They told me it would take a year to fully regain the strength and movement I had before injuring my shoulder. However, that does not mean you cannot do anything strenuous until that time passes. Here is a typical pattern: 

The nerve block will wear off in about 22-24 hours. Start taking pain medication before that so you deal with the pain.

Sleep in a nice recliner

Start pendulum exercises asap. I did them about every hour but you must be sure that they are completely passive. Your arm dangling and you not using any muscles to move your arm. They will show you how to do this.

Start PT immediately after surgery.