COPD Medication - Predisolone - Itchy Skin????

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi I am a newbie here, just wondered if anyone has had a problem with itching skin since being started on Spiriva. I have had endless doses of Predisalone which tends to keep the itching at bay. Would be interesting to know if anyone suffers from this????

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sharon

I am fine with Spiriva, although have certain food allergies, but had to give up Prednisolone because of terrible side effects. I did suffer Urticaria (Hives) really badly on my back, arms and legs..just about everywhere...for about 7 years, and was put on 10 mg. of Phenergan which helped a bit, but it went away just like that and has never reappeared. It was so bad, I used to put wet bicarbonate of soda in a paste onto the hives just to get a bit of relief. Why it went away, I haven't the foggiest..!! Prednisolone was given to me to fight off chest infections along with antibiotics, not for itching.

Regards, Val.

• Posted

Thanks for your reply Val, yes sorry i didn't make myself very clear in that last post, was just a bit baffled and wasnt sure if it was the Prednisolone that was making my skin itch, like you it seems to just be on my back and scalp.
  • Posted

I've been on Spiriva for years and it never made me itch. I used to have Hives years ago and it just vanished too, I don't know why.
  • Posted

Hi Oddbiddy

Isn't that peculiar, how something so horrible, that can keep you awake all night and is so distressing, can just vanish overnight? I even used to get it from the steam when stirring up some foods that I personally was allergic to, but was cooking for my family. Do you think there is any truth in the old fashioned saying that your body changes every seven years?

• Posted

well, I was 28 when I got what they were calling asthma at the time, that's some sevens.
  • Posted

Hi Sharon,