Could all my issues be undiagnosed fibromyalgia?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi!

I am 22 yrs old and was a very active athlete in high school and moderately active in college.  But during my last year of college, I start experiencing moderate-severe chest pain on the right side of my sternum.  I majored in film production so I was sure it was a pulled muscle, etc. from lifting equipment, but the problem persisted even with medicine and rest. That was about a year ago, and now my pain symptoms have spread.

My entire chest often hurts. And lately, especially during times of stress, I have very sharp and localized pain under my left ribcage (only the left one). The pain has been so bad, I have been to urgent care and they checked for everything and even did an EKG. But when the doctor asked me to explain the kind of pain I was experiencing, I realized I couldn't pinpoint exactly where I was hurting. It's like I knew going into the doctor exactly where it hurt but when he asked me to point to it, I couldn't explain.

I've also had very achy legs, especially the backs of my thighs. Sometimes I feel like I just want to lay on the floor and stretch my whole body at once, but I feel like I can't get my body to loosen up.

I carry a lot of tension in my upper back and shoulders. It often feels like a burning sensation, deep in the muscles and nothing gets rid of it. My upper back has been an issue for almost two years, but doctors can't find anything wrong. Sometimes after short jogs, I will walk back to my car and feel shooting pain up and down my upper spine.  Very, very painful. I do not have chest pain (usually) when I exercise.