Could I have hemochromatosis ?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello,

I am 39 yrs old, healthy, active mom of 5. I am a nurse and enjoy reading and photography. My youngest boy was conceived in March 2015, I have been exclusively breastfeeding since. With that said no period for 20 mths. I started suffering from sciatica and left joint pain, specifically my SI joint causing my pelvis to be out of alignment. After multiple adjustments I went back to the Dr who insisted it was a bulging disc and I had an MRI. It was negative. I self referred to a Physiotherapist and was having my hubby tape me and wearing an SI joint belt. I went to the DR again asking for blood work as I thought perhaps since I wasn't taking a multivitamin and breastfeeding, perhaps the joint pain was from a vitamin deficiency. Lab results came back with Ferritin 805 iron 26 Alt Phosphate 167 Billirubin 20 WBC all low blood in urine, ketones and protein. Saturation 50%

Dr insists its Vit B12 deficiency- that came back fine

ultrasound or liver fine

X-ray of the heart fine

tested for hemochromatosis waiting for results

Dr now days he thinks it is malnutrition

thoughts???

I am considered as my dr doesn't like being given suggestions and now says ferritin levels are just a sign of liver inflammation, but my ultrasound was fine?? I'm so confused and wondering if I should ask to see an internist. I can't see how this could be malnutrition I eat like crazy!

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Jennifer,

I can understand how unsure and frustrated you are right now.

Usually inflammation, doesn't yield to such high numbers in your ferritin levels. Do you have any family history of liver disease or hemochromatosis?

Considering that you are still young and have had 5 pregnancies so far, it is possible that you do have hemochromatosis, but all the blood loss you have had up to now has hindered the deposition of iron in your liver, hence a normal liver ultrasound.

I recommend :